If you have already voted, you may have noticed that there were no Supreme Court or Court of Appeals races on the ballot this primary season.  This does not mean, however, that there are not races for those seats heating up in anticipation of the general election in November.

For statute lovers (like us), the absence of any appellate primary races this year arises from N.C. Gen. Stat. § 163-322(a):

Except as provided in G.S. 163‑329, there shall be a primary to narrow the field of candidates to two candidates for each position to be filled if, when the filing period closes, there are more than two candidates for a single office or the number of candidates for a group of offices exceeds twice the number of positions to be filled. If only one or two candidates file for a single office, no primary shall be held for that office and the candidates shall be declared nominated.

This year, there are four contested appellate seats, each of which has only two candidates, as follows (see Board of Elections data): 

Supreme Court Associate Justice (Newby seat)

Sam J. Ervin IV 
Paul Martin Newby

Court of Appeals Judge (McGee seat)

Linda McGee  
David S. Robinson

Court of Appeals Judge (Bryant seat)

Wanda Bryant   
Martin (“Marty”) B. McGee

Court of Appeals Judge (Thigpen seat)

Robert Christopher (“Chris”) Dillon
Cressie Thigpen

Links to the candidates’ official websites can be accessed by clicking on their names above.  In addition, while dispassionate information about judicial elections can be hard for voters to find, we will strive to  provide links to other useful information about the candidates and the election as the November 6, 2012 general election approaches.

Visit our “Voter Information” page over the next few months for updated information.